Rental Property and Online Commerce Scam Campaign Centered on Canadian Phone Number 647-839-7609
This scam campaign revolves around Canadian phone number 647-839-7609, a 647 area code number assigned to the Greater Toronto Area in Ontario, Canada. The number carries zero formal FTC complaints on record, suggesting it is either newly active, underreported, or primarily targeting Canadian consumers who may not file with American regulatory bodies. Despite the absence of formal complaints, the number has been co-reported alongside eleven domains in community fraud reports, indicating active use within a broader scam ecosystem. The cluster of associated entities spans rental property fraud, e-commerce deception, document phishing, and gaming-related recruitment schemes, pointing to a versatile operation that deploys multiple lure types simultaneously.
The most clearly documented strand of this campaign involves a vacation rental property scam targeting consumers in Wasaga Beach, Ontario. The domain www.rbnmanagementluxurylakehouse.com has been co-reported alongside phone number 647-839-7609, maps.google.ca, docushare.tiny.ca, and www.cottagesincanada.com, all at a confidence level of 0.30. Community reports describe a fraudulent luxury lakehouse rental advertisement, consistent with the domain name, in which potential victims were nearly deceived into sending money for a property they could not independently verify. The use of maps.google.ca in this cluster suggests the operator was directing victims to Google Maps listings to create a false appearance of legitimacy for the rental property. The domain www.cottagesincanada.com appearing in the same co-reported group indicates the scammer may have cross-posted or mirrored listings across multiple cottage and vacation rental platforms to maximize victim reach.
A second strand involves the domain docushare.tiny.ca, which serves as a likely document-sharing phishing vector. This domain was co-reported with the phone number, maps.google.ca, www.luxuryhomes.com, www.rbnmanagementluxurylakehouse.com, travelerdiary.wordpress.com, and www.cottagesincanada.com, making it the single most connected node in the cluster. The pattern suggests that after initial contact through a rental or commerce lure, victims may be directed to docushare.tiny.ca to complete a fake lease agreement, payment authorization, or identity verification form. The domain travelerdiary.wordpress.com, a free WordPress-hosted blog, also appears repeatedly in co-reported relationships and may function as a supporting content page designed to lend credibility to the travel or rental narrative. The inclusion of www.luxuryhomes.com alongside these entities suggests the campaign may extend beyond cottage rentals into broader luxury real estate fraud.
A third strand, noted in community reports with zero upvotes but still on record, describes a game marketing recruitment scam operating across Craigslist, Kijiji, Facebook, YouTube, and Twitter. This thread is loosely connected to the cluster through the presence of gamerlife.tv and the gaming-related community report, though no direct co-reporting links that domain to the phone number in the provided data. A separate community report references a suspicious e-commerce contact email, paydiscountorders@gmail.com, discovered while searching for consumer goods, which aligns with the presence of 40gmail.com and website.informer.com in the broader entity cluster. These domains suggest the operator or affiliated actors also run counterfeit or non-delivery retail schemes using disposable Gmail infrastructure. The domain google.ca, registered in 2000 through MarkMonitor International Canada Ltd., is a legitimate Google property and its presence in the cluster most likely reflects its use as a spoofed or cited authority rather than any compromise of Google infrastructure itself.
Consumers who have been contacted by phone number 647-839-7609 or directed to any of the domains in this cluster should take the following protective steps. Do not click links sent via text or email, do not wire money or pay via gift card for any rental property, and hang up immediately if contacted by this number unsolicited. To verify whether a rental listing is legitimate, independently search the property address on public land registry databases and contact the actual property management company through a number found on an official website, not one provided in the ad. To check whether a domain is safe before visiting it, use tools such as Google Safe Browsing (safebrowsing.google.com/safe-browsing/report-phishing) or the WHOIS lookup at lookup.icann.org to review registration history and ownership. Report suspicious contacts involving this phone number or any of these domains to the FTC at reportfraud.ftc.gov, to the FCC at consumercomplaints.fcc.gov, and in Canada to the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre at antifraudcentre-centreantifraude.ca.
Overall, this campaign represents a moderate but geographically focused threat primarily affecting Ontario consumers seeking rental properties and online purchases. The use of a Toronto-area phone number, multiple Canadian-domain listings, and community reports specific to Wasaga Beach indicates deliberate regional targeting of the Ontario cottage rental market, likely timed to peak vacation booking seasons. Recommended next steps include flagging docushare.tiny.ca and www.rbnmanagementluxurylakehouse.com for takedown review with their respective registrars and hosting providers, alerting Kijiji and Craigslist Canada to remove associated listings, and encouraging additional victims to file reports with the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre to build a formal complaint record that may support law enforcement action.